Friday Top 5ive!

31 Jan

Hey guys, I know that I’m a day late with this top 5 list, and I think I’ll be moving it to Fridays anyway. Subject this week? My top 5 favorite movies. There is only one qualification for this list: I have to be able to watch the movie whenever it comes on. That’s it. These are in no particular order, and there were so many movies to choose from, hence the extra day I needed. So here it is, my 5 favorite movies of all time.

1. Friday. I have to admit something; I didn’t see this movie until right before I went to college. I wasn’t one of the cool kids and my mom didn’t believe in us watching R rated movies. So I was late to the Friday party. Now? I can recite it line for line when its on.

2. Do The Right Thing. Not the best Spike Lee joint, but its in his top 3. When I was between 19 and 20, I went thru a “pro black” phase. I watched Do The Right Thing and Higher Learning that whole summer, and that’s what fueled my “pro blackness”. It got so bad that I wouldn’t take the cotton out of an aspirin bottle. But I loved everything about this movie, and fell in love with Rosie Perez in the process.

3. The Dark Knight. Newsflash: I love comic books. In high school, my most prized possession was the Death of Superman box set. It included the graphic novel, an issue of the Daily Planet, and a few other goodies. But The Dark Knight is, in my honest opinion, the best acted comic movie ever.

4. Ace Ventura 2, When Nature Calls. There was once a time when Jim Carrey was my favorite actor. He’s not anymore, but man,he was awesome in this movie. The bats, the motorized rhino, the tribe in Africa, and THATS WHAT YOU SLIPPED IN, THATS WHAT WAS ON YOUR SHOE, AND THAT CAUSED THE ABRAISION ON YOUR PALM!!!! (humps the air)

5.Home Alone 2. This possibly is my favorite movie of all time. Kevin McAllister had the best childhood ever. I mean sure, getting left behind on a family vacation sucks and all, but he made the best of his situation, and foiled the “wet bandits” for the second time. But the stars of the movie were Harry and Marv. At some points they made me root for them because they were just that funny, and they kept coming back. Some of my favorite movie villains.

Leave a Reply

