The Joys of Parenthood: You let your kids listen to what?????

19 Dec

Every morning, it never fails. Walking my 6 year old son to the bus stop, we walk past one car, and what do i hear coming from the speakers? Gucci Mane. Yes, ATL’s Finest, Radrick Davis. Now listen, if you wanna listen to Gucci, then listen to Gucci. But why is that something you want your kids to listen to before they head off to school? I’m not judging, well you know what? I am judging. Your kid goes to school with my kid, so therefore, I’m concerned. What has happened to parents today? My mom didn’t let me buy my first rap tape, yes I said tape, until I was 15. I was only allowed to listen to what was on the radio, and it was WAY more tame back then. You can basically hear the album version of songs on the radio. So I am really befuddled as to why some one would think that was appropriate music for a child to listen to. Let alone before school. So they shouldnt be surprised when their kids grow up to be disrespectful jerks. And its not just music. A co-worker of mine the other day asked me what is the cheapest Xbox 360 she could get her 4-year old son. So Me, thinking that her son plays games like Sonic the Hedgehog, or the little kiddie games, you know, games that my 6 and 4 year olds play. So I told her that she should get him the 4Gig for $199, because he probably doesnt play games that take up a lot of space. Boy was I wrong. The first game that she told me he likes to play? Call of Duty. Yes, the same Call of Duty that is rated M-Mature. According to the ESRB, the Entertainment Software Rating Board, Mature means this:

MATURE
Titles rated M (Mature) have content that may be suitable for persons ages 17 and older. Titles in this category may contain intense violence, blood and gore, sexual content and/or strong language.

She also told me that he plays all the COD’s. So I asked her what she tells her son as he sits up and kills his video game eniemes. She told me that she sits down with him and explains about how those are not “real people”. A 4 year old is not going to understand that. I’m still trying to get my 6 year old that every big rig he sees is not Optimus Prime. A 4 year old is not going to understand violence at 4 years old.

You know its funny, when I was growing up, we used to play with Nerf blasters and guns, supersoakers. But we never thought that they were violent, or anything of that nature. We used to play Power Rangers on the front lawn. Hell the scariest game we ever played was the first Resident Evil. But things are different now. Parents are younger, and some are stupider. But they dont instill in their children the same values that we were brought up with. My wife and I dont let our kids play with any thing that resembles a gun. The most violent video game that they play is WWE Smackdown VS Raw. And thats wrestling. And we wonder why all of our youth want to grow up and be gangsters and bangers.  Leave a comment if you want, I’m out.

4 Responses to “The Joys of Parenthood: You let your kids listen to what?????”

  1. stacy December 19, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

    Yes CJM! I have issues with Tabloids on newsstands in the grocery store. I don’t want my six year old reading “Obama cheats with Oprah”. I really got angry in McDonalds when CNN news was playn on the flatscreen while we ate. I didn’t feel I should explain what being sexually abused meant while they discussed elizabeth Smart’s story. Feel me??? Much luv.

  2. Robin December 20, 2010 at 12:49 PM #

    This is a very valid point! A 4 year old doesn’t understand the idea that what they are seeing isn’t real. They just want to mimic what they see. Take Jazz for instance, she gets her attitude from wonderpets and kailan! She does what they do no matter how much we tell her not to! Cj is a good example too with transformers…remember how every yellow car has been bumblebee! Lol. But the kids now a days don’t have that innocence anymore. I want to try to keep that in jazz and cj for as long as possible! And olivia for as long as possible! Its scary to think where the world and he kids in it will be in 7 years!

  3. Jeff February 25, 2011 at 10:04 AM #

    Hey CJM, i know this is late but i just came across your blog. i agree children of that age dont have the cognitive skills needed to disect the material that they are viewing in these games. As an adult I like to play COD, GTA and things of that nature. However my children ARENT allowed to play or be in the room to watch when I play.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention You let your kids listen to what????? « Mactastic Voyage!! -- Topsy.com - December 19, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by stacy williams. stacy williams said: RT @MisterCJM: You let your kids listen to what?????: http://t.co/oK7WEUM my new blog droppin some parental knowledge!!! […]

Leave a Reply

