Money doesnt grow on trees, and neither does faith.

19 Oct

I am a Christian. I read the bible, and believe that it it’s the word of the Almighty God. Jesus Christ is my Lord and savior. That being said,i am guilty of something a lot of us are: looking for the answer to a question, that we already have the answer to. See, I pray every day and every night, but it is not enough. I don’t get an answer when I want, so I go looking on the internet. I wonder how many of us know that? All I have to do is open up my bible, and the answer jumps out at me. But there is another issue that I have, not with the bible itself, but the version of the bible. In my humble opinion, the King James version is the best version because to me it feels like its the most authentic. I currently have an NIV bible that I use for my reading, and I barely pick up my KJV. But that’s changing because I found out some rather disturbing news about the NIV today. See it is published and “owned” by Zondervan, which is also owned by newscorp. You want to know another book that newscorp owns and publishes? The satanic bible. You can look it up for yourselves, its on their website, I’m not making this up. I hope I’m not the only person that finds something wrong with that. I shouldn’t be. If you call yourself as Christian, you should find this very wrong. I know some people like the NIV because it is easier to read, myself included. But I know what I’m gonna do about it: I’m taking a stand for Christ ! Dont fall into the devils trap, he is real, but one thing we cannot do is fall into the trap he has set for us. Do some research. Oh yeah, my niv is going straight to the trash. Thats the same place yours should be headed too! Want proof? Check out this link: http://www.harpercollins.com/searcheng/2pagesearchx.aspx?mode=search&search=the%20satanic%20bible

2 Responses to “Money doesnt grow on trees, and neither does faith.”

  1. Yolanda October 21, 2010 at 11:59 PM #

    Hello Courtjames26,

    I’m glad to see Christian blogs online–this is actually the first time I’ve ever read a blog period. But, to address your point about the KJV of the Bible feeling authentic, let me ask you this–what do you think Christians read before there was a KJV of the Bible? Can that version really be the most authentic when it is probably the great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great grandson of the most original transcripts we had of Scripture. I admire your endeavor to find a version that is as close to original Scripture as one can get, but there’s a lot behind the scenes that you may not be considering.

    The words on the page are only one factor you need to consider when trying to get at the meaning of what the writer is saying. Culture, language, slang, and euphemisms play a huge part in understanding the author’s intentions. The Bible was never meant to be a book that its readers had difficulty understanding. In fact, it was written to be just the opposite–a book its audience could understand and use for guidance.

    Short of learning Greek and Hebrew language and culture, you will be hard pressed to find a version of the Bible close to its original state. However, if we pray for wisdom and understanding of God’s word before we embark upon our readings, he will reveal the truth to you that he himself has put into his word.

  2. Yolanda October 21, 2010 at 11:59 PM #

    Hello Courtjames26,

    I’m glad to see Christian blogs online–this is actually the first time I’ve ever read a blog period. But, to address your point about the KJV of the Bible feeling authentic, let me ask you this–what do you think Christians read before there was a KJV of the Bible? Can that version really be the most authentic when it is probably the great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great, great grandson of the most original transcripts we had of Scripture. I admire your endeavor to find a version that is as close to original Scripture as one can get, but there’s a lot behind the scenes that you may not be considering.

    The words on the page are only one factor you need to consider when trying to get at the meaning of what the writer is saying. Culture, language, slang, and euphemisms play a huge part in understanding the author’s intentions. The Bible was never meant to be a book that its readers had difficulty understanding. In fact, it was written to be just the opposite–a book its audience could understand and use for guidance.

    Short of learning Greek and Hebrew language and culture, you will be hard pressed to find a version of the Bible close to its original state. However, if we pray for wisdom and understanding of God’s word before we embark upon our readings, he will reveal the truth to you that he himself has put into his word.

    Peace to you and your house!

Leave a Reply

